July Newsletter

Cherish what you love, sustainable foraging and more

QUICK TIP: Learning how to forage is a beautiful way to reconnect to the natural world and increase your resilience and abundance in your life. It is important to learn to forage safely and responsibly. Start you foraging with either plants you already know or go out with someone who has some expertise in the practice. I also recommend getting a good identification guide with photographs.

Basic Foraging

Wild black raspberries

Basic foraging is a skill that almost anyone can learn. It is best to start with plants that are easy to recognize and have no toxic look a likes. Here I am going to cover some of the best plants to start with in my part of the United States. Most of these are widely available in the north east quadrant of the United States. I do recommend getting a couple of identification guides with good photographs and descriptions. Check my resource list at the end of the newsletter for the guides that I use.

Click on the button for an old fashioned recipe for the wonderful fruit that you are harvesting. While you are there, leaving a tip or subscription helps me keep experimenting and bringing the best of my results to you.

Broad leaf plantain

Plantain

There are several species of plantain. The broad leaf shown above is my first choice. It is generally considered safe, but always check an herbal. I crush it and use it fresh mixed with baking powder to treat minor infections and skin irritations.

Dandelion

Dandelion

While there are a number of useful herbs in photo, dandelion is the one in my hand. The leaf is a nutritious green or tonic, the blooms make good jelly and wine, the root is used to help flush excess fluid and can help with uti. It generally considered safe, but check with your medical provider.

Burdock

Burdock

Burdock is a little less familiar to most people unless you live in farm country. The early spring rosette looks similar to rhubarb, except the leaf is fuzzy and the stem is green. I crush it and use it fresh mixed with plantain and baking soda to treat minor infections and skin irritations. Like plantain, I use it as a topical. As with all herbs, check with an herbal or your medical provider.

Raspberry

Blackberry

Raspberry/Blackberry

I use these interchangeably for most purposes. If I am making a leaf tea, I prefer raspberry because it is less prickly, otherwise I don’t see much difference. Mostly, I harvest the berries. The raspberries ripen first and the berry pulls off the stem core. The blackberries ripen about 2 - 3 weeks later and the core pops off the stem with the berry. Wild blackberries are a little more aggressive with their thorns. Raspberry has a lighter underside to the leaf.

Wild grape

Wild Grape

I have three uses for grape. I harvest the vine year round to create my rings for dream catchers, artist frames, and construction. In the fall, as the vine is going into dormancy, is actually the best time to harvest the wood as there is less cracking as it dries. Leaves can be harvested young but at full growth for culinary use. I harvest the grapes as soon as they are ripe in the fall for jelly and juice. Make sure that you are harvesting grapes. In my area, they are often mixed in with an ivy. Make sure you know the difference. Also, if it has fine hair roots on the vine or leaves of three, leave it be.

Other Things to forage

Sometimes you can find wild roses to harvest for hips, chives, and mints that have escaped from old homesteads. I also keep my eye out for flowers, willow, and other treasures for the vase. Read the next article for the rules that I follow.

Ethical and Sustainable Wild Craft

Protecting what you love

When you decide to forage and develop this resiliency skill, it is important to do so safely and sustainably. My considerations for what I forage, where I forage, and timing are: personal safety, who’s space am I invading, growth habits of what I forage, who else needs that plant, and how abundant is that plant. Also, I always expect to give a bit of blood in return for the privilege of foraging. Scratches and scuffs are the cost that I normally pay for foraging.

So, here are the rules that I recommend in roughly my order of priority:

1)Forage on private property only with the knowledge and permission of those who own the property.

2)Never spread invasive plants from where they already are. Foraging can help keep them under control, but know how they propagate, and work to keep these plants contained and decrease their coverage.

3)Take great care in foraging rare, endangered, or threatened species. In most cases DON’T. For advanced foragers, work with the experts to preserve and increase the coverage and survival of these plants.

4)For common plants, never take the first. The first fruit has the potential to extend the season earlier.

5)Never take the last. The last fruit has the potential to expand the season later.

6)Never take all. There are other creatures in the area that rely on those plants. Those fruits are part of the way the plants propagate.

7)Always forage where you are safe, with good footing, and away from dangerous situations and chemical contamination. Wear practical clothing.

8)Native Americans always asked and ask permission from the plants, the land, and the spirits. An offering of gratitude is then given.

9)Stay aware of all conditions at all times.

My abundance, income, health, and survival has been, is, and probably will in the future be tied, at least in part, to my ability to forage and wild craft. I am adamant about doing so carefully, respectfully, and sustainably. I work to protect the plants and the environment that I rely upon. For me, it is a point of love, respect, and reverence for the Earth and her cycles. These rules help to keep me in balance with the cycle that I hold sacred.

The turning of the season. The trees are starting to turn with a otherworldly reflection in a local pond.

Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.

Rumi

Wealth

The first tentative rays of the sun peeking over the horizon kissed her cheek. Slowly, gently, her eyes opened and she rolled out of bed. She started the coffee, splashed a little water over her body, and got dressed. By this time, the coffee was done, so she poured a cup, pulled the cash out of her pocket, and settled down for breakfast.

One, two, three…..Ten singles, a couple of fives, and a ten. It wasn’t going to be enough. She need to pay the phone bill, buy supplies, and get gas. She finished breakfast, got up, and started pacing back and forth. Lost in her despair, she paced absently out the door and sat on the step. When she became conscious of where she was, she looked up and smiled…….

See why she smiled and turned despair into hope. The rest of story and digital prints of a pair of dream catchers is available for a small fee by clicking the button below.

And for a little bit more

Events

July 18 Nelson Mandela International Day

July 23 Parent’s Day

July 29 Anniversary of NASA’s founding

August 1 Full Moon

August 8 International infinity Day (Also, Sneak Some Zucchini Onto Your Neighbor’s Porch Day)

August 12 Perseid Meteor Shower Peak

August 16 New Moon - Next newsletter published

The Rose

When most people think of roses, those perfect long stem buds that you give to your lover is what comes to mind. Those are beautiful and the typical symbol of love. But, roses are much more than a gift to your valentine. These ancient herbs, 150 or more species are known, are found naturally in most temperate parts of the world. All species of roses have health benefits, but the old fragrant roses are prized for their medicinal and aroma therapy values. The French rose, the cabbage rose, the Damask rose, and rugosa are the old roses that are normally used for medicine, aroma therapy, and energy work.

My grandmother had an old climbing rose that sent out its perfume all over the neighborhood when I was a child. I remember watching her brew her magical rose water with those blossoms.

These days, I’m playing Granny or Auntie. In October or November, I collect the tiny rose hips from the wild roses that are growing rampant here. They will be added to the other herbs that I collect and dry for my tonics, teas, and ointments. I’ll use the rose hips to create my sore throat tonic next winter.

To find out more about the magic of roses and a rose water recipe, click on the button. It will take you to the longer article on my website. While you are there, explore a bit. It is my online home for my original artwork. If you find something you like, grab it while you can, each piece is one of a kind.

Downloadable, digital versions of my artwork are available here:

The Heart

The Heart - pen and ink by Manitu Okahas

This pen and ink started as a little something to do with a tiny raw hide canvas. While it started out as a doodle and play time, it turned into a bit more. It turned into a symbol of everything I love about creating. Because I love the earth, the environment, and natural materials, I am reluctant to throw bits away, so they become practice pieces for me to work on technique and shading in an art form that brings joy and beauty into my life. When it was done, it became a gift to an organization that I love so that they could bring in a few dollars at auction. In the end, this little doodle became more than just a doodle. It became a true symbol of all that the heart represents. I invite you to read Rumi’s quote again and take the courage of the heart, and put your effort out there, even if you see it as less than perfect.

For a longer article on the heart symbol, click the button.

This pen and ink has been sold, but you can download the greeting card version here:

And I'm Not The Only One

Here are a couple of places to find more information.

The field guides that I use are:

EYE WITNESS - HERBS, but there are other eye witness books.

PETERSON FIELD GUIDES

AUDUBON FIELD GUIDES

My go to herbal is 20,000 SECRETS OF TEA by by Victoria Zak

Some one I'm following:

Spyder Webb is an artist that I have known for a number of years. He does beautiful work with a positive message. You can usually find him on Facebook as Spyder Webb, or on instagram as spyderwebbfineart. Go check him out.