June Newsletter

Stories

QUICK TIP: I came from a long line of ancestors that knew that abundance was not the “Frog Skin” (paper money) in the pocket. Abundance starts with utilizing the resources that are at hand. These resources cost creativity, not cash. It starts with asking a few questions before things hit the trash bin. 1) What else can this be used for? 2) Who else can find a use for this? 3) How long am I going to have to store it before I use it? 4) Is it worth the space needed to store it? I try to identify three uses for items before they hit the trash, then I ask myself if I’m really going to do it. Most of my projects, including the Raised Bed Garden, start with this process.

Raised Garden Bed: part 2

To see the first part of the build, check out my May newsletter. Or click on the button at the bottom of the article to go to the full instructions .

7) Pre assemble the ends to the two sides. I took this back apart because the garden was too big to carry as a single unit.

8) Pre assemble the sides and bracing. Each side has 5 sections. I also pre assembled the last end and took it back apart. This took about 5 hours.

9) Bugsy is inspecting one of the sides that has been pre assembled and taken back apart so it can be moved.

10) The pieces were carried to the garden and re-assembled in place. This took about 3 hours.

I told her that I needed more help. (I’m bad). The garden is done, rustic but sturdy. Next, the trellis go back in and we fill it.

To see the complete build click on the button to go to the article on my Buy Me a Coffee page. It’s free.

Stories

Tree of life made from recycled wire over natural Lake Erie

Stories, to a large extent, determine how humans experience life on this planet. The stories we tell ourselves about ourselves. The stories we tell ourselves about others. The stories we seek out and listen to. The stories that we tell about the environment around us. These stories and symbols create the framework within which we live our lives. They both empower us and limit our possibilities.

Everyone encounters challenges and difficulties in life. People often behave badly towards others. Hard things happen. But, these too are often based on stories. Or, if not, the way we experience them are based on stories and symbols. The way we respond to the events in our lives is always based on those stries that we believe.

My truck, home, and only transportation broke down on the way to a festival in 2019. I was a roaming vendor earning a living by selling my artistic creations at festivals and markets. I worked very hard for several months to find a way to fix it or replace it. In the end, I wasn’t able to do either. I rented a truck and made my way back to a friend’s home. Was this a good thing or a bad thing? I could tell myself a story either way and it would be “true”. I choose to be grateful. A few months later, the nation went into Covid lock down with no potential for me to earn a living in the way that I was before.

So, my story is that I have a wonderful friend who graciously offered me a safe place to be, and access to internet so that I had the potential of starting over in a new way. The area surrounding her home is abundant with resources and potential, allowing me to create a new life and path forward.

Life may not always be easy, but those challenges can either be a stumbling block or a chance to learn and grow in skill, strength, and resiliency. When I start wallowing in stories of hardship and dis-empowerment, yes I give myself a few minutes to cry my tears and throw a temper tantrum. Then, I try to take a walk around the block and have a conversation with my ancestors. I remember the lessons that they taught me and collect resources of abundance. Sometimes it’s blackberries, cherries, or wild grapes. Sometimes it’s wild flowers for an arrangement. Sometimes it’s grape vine, wood, or stones for my art and inspiration for my writing.

Whether I am looking for abundance or lack, I always find it. Looking for abundance is much more fun, so I’m going to keep telling my stories of how to create abundance where there seems to be lack.

We become the stories we tell ourselves.

Michael Cunningham

Spirit of the South

It was a beautiful day at the beginning of summer. The sun was bright overhead as she walked through the sun chokes and sweet smelling grasses in the meadow. Suddenly, out of the corner of her eye, she saw a movement. She turned just in time to see a pair of coyote pups jump out of the tall grass and splash into the cool water of the creek.

She quietly made her way to the old rock by the creek to watch the amusing antics of the pups. As the pups bounded and played in the water, her mind drifted back to a day much like this one many years ago. A day when she was sad and lonely, walking in this very meadow….

The full story and digital print can be purchased by clicking the button.

And for a little bit more

Events

June 21 - Summer Solstice

June 25 - Anniversary of The Battle of Little Big Horn

July 1 - Canada Day

July 3 - Full Moon

July 4 - Independence Day USA

July 14 Bastille Dy

July 17 - New Moon

July 24 - Amelia Earhart Day

Sweet Grass

Sweet grass is one of the four sacred herbs in Eastern Woodland Native American spirituality. In the tradition that I most closely identify with, sweet grass is in the southern position on the medicine wheel. While there are a number of perennial grasses that are commonly called sweet grass, the one that I referring to is usually found under the botanical name of Heirochloe odorata.

Sweet grass, vanilla grass, holy grass, or buffalo grass, can sometimes be foraged in moist soil areas of North America and Northern Europe, but it is best to either grow it or purchase it from a reputable source.

This beautiful grass is often used to weave baskets, mats, and hats. It can be put in closets and drawers to keep linens and clothes smelling fresh. I love sweet grass for its ceremonial uses.

You can find out more about sweet grass by visiting the article on my website. Just click the button.

Coyote

/

One of the iconic symbols of North America is the coyote. This relative of wolves and domestic dogs is found throughout most of the continent from sub tropical Mexico to sub arctic Alaska and Canada. Whether you study Native American spirituality or Wile E. Coyote, this symbol of the Americas is the clown, trickster, and the fool or jester. He sits in the south node of the Native American Medicine Wheel scheming mischief and sticking out his tongue.

This symbol of summer is an amusing reminder to chill out and have some fun. Live a life of joy and adventure. And, always remember to balance all your plans and schemes with a sense of humor. Celebrate when it goes right and laugh at your folly when the plans backfire. Both carry lessons when you can laugh at yourself.

A longer article on the symbolism of coyote is on my website. Just click on the button. While you are there, there is lots of hand made work to see.

And I'm Not The Only One

Here is a place to find more information.

One of my favorite books is BACK TO BASICS from the editors of Readers Digest.

My copy is the 1981 edition, but there are newer editions available both new and used by doing a quick internet search.

Some one I'm following:

One f the organizations that I am following is THE PACHAMAMA ALLIANCE. They are dedicated to sustainability, ecology, and indigenous rights world wide. to find out more check them out at:

pachamama.org