November Newsletter

Finding the Path for Balance

QUICK TIP: When the season turns to the cool weather of late fall and early winter, our tastes tend towards strong herbs and spices. There s a good reason for this. These herbs and spices tend to support good health during a time of the year that puts a lot of stresses on our health. Here a couple of blends that I use liberally.

ITALIAN BLEND - 4 parts dry basil, 2 parts dry thyme, 2 parts dry rosemary, 2 parts dry oregano, 1 part sage. Adjust to your taste. Use by the teaspoon to tablespoon in both meat and vegetable dishes.

SPICED BLEND - 2 parts cinnamon, 1 part cloves, 1 part ginger, 1 part allspice. Optional - add a bit of star anise and/or black pepper. I use this primarily for fruits and desserts by the teaspoon full.

Both blends make nice healing teas.

Hardy Food for the Cold Days

Among the most important and powerful skills to learn for sustainability and resiliency is to know what food sources store well and how to use those food sources. I am going to start this with my list of top 12 plant based foods that store well with minimal fuss. Most of these are easily grown in a home garden. All of them are usually easily purchased. Then I’ll give you a couple of my favorite recipes that use some of these vegetables and the spice blends above. So - Here goes.

Store the first four in an air tight glass jar or plastic jug at room temperature. I have stored all of them for a couple of years without much fuss.

Rice - This I purchase.

Corn - For storage harvest when the corn is mature and drying down. Dry completely before storing. A flour corn or flint corn is best

Sorghum - I grow broom corn and dry it on the stalks upside down.

Dried beans - harvested mature and dried down.

Winter Squash - Harvest when mature (when the vines die back) and field cure. Store at 40* to 50* F. The storage life depends on variety. For 3 - 6 month storage I choose Butternut, Jarrahdale, or Hubbard.

Onions - Choose a storage variety. It will be rock hard and strong flavored. Harvest when the tops die back and cure until the skins are papery and the tops are completely dry. Braid the tops together or trim back and store in a basket at 40* to 50* F. Some varieties store all winter.

Garlic - Basically the same as onions.

Potatoes - Harvest when the plants die back, cure to toughen up the skins. Store medium sized potatoes at 40* to 50* in a dry place and in a cardboard box or basket. They should store for 3 to 6 months.

Cabbage - Choose hard heads of Danish Ball or Late Flat Dutch that are blemish free and mature. Store wrapped in brown paper at 40* to 50* for 3 months or more.

Apples - I prefer Arkansas Black for storage. Choose blemish free and firm apples. Store at 40* to 50* in a high humidity environment for 3 months or more.

Carrots - Choose medium to large roots that are blemish free. Cut back the tops to about 1 inch. The tops can be eaten like parsley. Store in sawdust, sand, or straw, covered at 35* to 45* F for 3 to 6 months

Beets - Cut the tops back to about 2 inches. The tops can be eaten as cooked greens or salad greens. Store in sawdust, sand, or straw at 35* to 45* for several months.

Spicy Bean Soup

Here is a hot and hardy soup or stew that I developed for my hungry crew. It takes a while to cook, but it is quick and easy to put together. Just put it in a crock pot or simmer on the stove for a few hours. Click the button to go to the free PDF download on my Buy Me a Coffee page.

Pumpkin Custard

I love pumpkin pie, but can do without the crust, especially as making crust is the most time consuming part of pumpkin pie. On a particularly busy fall day, my family had a craving for pumpkin pie, so I adapted my favorite pie recipe to work without a crust. Now when I have the oven running, I throw in a pumpkin or squash. A few days later I make this dessert. Click the button to go to the free PDF download on my Buy Me a Coffee page.

Finding a Path for Balance

Sunset over an Iowa farm, Manitu Okahas

In many parts of the world, especially in the northern hemisphere, we are entering a very busy time of the year. Almost every spiritual tradition has one or more celebration or observance in the next few weeks. If you are a gardener or a farmer, which I have been both, the last of the harvest is probably coming in. If you forage, like I do, or hunt, this time of year is when you are bringing in the resources that you need to get through the winter. Then, near the end of it all, is the solstice and the New Year.

No matter how busy you are, this is the perfect time to think about balance. Part of being resilient and sustainable in your life and on this earth is finding a path for balance. I take my cues from the environment and from the wisdom of the ancestors that thrived on this land.

In a thriving ecosystem, all of the resources and energy in that ecosystem cycles in a dynamic balance. The energy flows in and out from on part of the system to the other, and then back again to start the cycle over. The herbs, herbivores, and predators are all needed to create that shifting balance that is both timeless and ever changing. Eventually, the energy shifts back to feed the soil and fuel the cycle anew.

This land where I am staying was not as “wild” as many believed it to be. The ancestors on this land managed the ecosystem with minimal interventions that, for the most part, maximized the sustainability, resiliency, and productivity of the whole system. the agriculture systems were designed to increase diversity, minimize pests, and care for the soil. The forests and foraging systems were managed with respect for the whole system and all of the life that lived here. The food that was needed was collected and stored for the lean times and the seed was saved for the next year’s growth.

The ancestors were by no means perfect, but, like the squirrel, they both collected and planted.

Like the wolf, they strove to be balancing agents and find a path for living in harmony with the ecosystem.

This is a crazy busy time of the year for me. I have been harvesting my medicinal herbs, pears, wild grapes, and grape vine. The fall planted crops have been put in the ground. The leaves still need to be rakes into the garden to build the soil for next years crops. Through it all (and me pulling out my hair from the overwhelm), I strive to observe what the earth is telling me about what is working and what is not, and why. I watch, and listen, and study to discern where I need to make changes for the next cycle. This is all a part of me finding my path towards greater resiliency and sustainability as I seek to live in the wisdom of the ancestors and the land.

With a number of observations in hand, it will soon be time for me to sit down and create plans for the future. Hopefully, the plans that I make will step up my skills and effectiveness as I seek to balance my business, resiliency, sustainability, and advocacy.

So, I am going to challenge you to join me in being a path finder for sustainability, resiliency, and balance for yourself. These are the steps that I take this time of the year.

1) Observe

How am I feeling about the main aspects of my life? Spiritual, Financial, Community, Health, Environment, Purpose. Where do I need to re-balance? How are the resources and energy cycling in my life? Where are they stagnant? Collecting? Where are they flowing and cycling? What s the compete cycle of what passes through my hands? How is my balance between collecting for the lean times and planting seeds for the future?

2) Feel

Where do I feel blocked? Where am I frustrated? Where do I feel uncertain or fearful? Where do I feel confident and empowered?

3) Consider

Where can I improve my environment for diversity, resiliency, and health? Where can I find information? Where can I find connection and help?

4) Decide

What is one thing that I can do in each area to bring my life, resources, and environment into greater balance, sustainability, and resiliency?

5) Create

Create a concrete plan of action of small steps to move you towards your intention. Develop or join and nurture a community for mutual support and sharing of experiences and information.

This is the journey of the Path Finder, teacher, and leader.

I am asking you to join me and share with others as I seek to make my footprints on this earth one’s that nurture and sustain life.

If you find this content helpful, you can support my efforts by leaving me tip by clicking on the link below.

If you but look with the eyes of love, In every direction, The Goddess you see.

A Brief History of The Goddess

The Lone Wolf

The Lone Wolf - original pen and ink by Manitu Okahas

When she chose to follow a new path,

One that had not been seen before,

The unknown mystery was before her

Withe the moon as her guide.

Her way was uncertain.

Fear her one companion.

Then the waxing moon whispered,

“Courage is found stepping into fear,

and growing in strength with every step.”

She would blaze a new trail

For others to follow

In service to the community

That she held dear.

This pen and ink and poem is available for purchase on my Buy Me a Coffee page. Click on the button below to browse, purchase, or support me with a tip.

Thank you.

And for a little bit more

Events

November 13 - World Kindness Day

November 16 - International Day for Tolerance

November 23 - Thanksgiving, USA

November 25 - Small Business Saturday

November 27 - Full Moon

December 1 - World AIDS day

December 6 - St Nicholas Day

December 12 - New Moon, Next Newsletter

Mullein

Mullein in the garden, just before harvest.

This year, we had a mullein plant volunteer in the garden. Since we were in the process of redoing the garden, I just left it where it was. What a beautiful gift this plant became. As a part of getting the garden ready for the end of the season, I harvested the plant for medicine as all parts of this plant have medicinal value. It is also a good mulch and soil conditioner in the garden. None of this plant goes to waste.

Mullein is native to Europe and Asia and has naturalized in the United States. It is often considered to be invasive in the United States, so wild sourcing or harvesting before seed production is advised.

It is an easy plant to recognize, but I recommend a good herbal and identification guide. Only forage in places free of dangers and chemicals. Ask permission if the property is not your own.

Mullein root. I cut the leaves, then carefully dug out the root.

Right now, I have a rosette of leaves drying. They will be stored for tea. I chopped the roots and am currently soaking them in vodka. In another month or so, this will all be ready. Just in time for flu season.

Mullein root tincture, mid brew.

To read the full article, go to my website by clicking on the button. You will find my physical products for sale there, too. Go ahead and browse! If you find something you like to purchase, I ship promptly.

The Wolf

Even though the pen and ink above is called “THE LONE WOLF”, an actual lone wolf is rare. Wolves are very family and community oriented, tending to put their family, community, and territory above all else. They fiercely protect and provide for the vibrancy of the pack, with each member playing its part.

As frightening as they can be, wolves are a critical part of the natural environment, providing a balancing force in their territory. It is a balance that works to keep the environment healthy and vibrant.

As a symbol, Euro-centric societies have a tendency to see the wolf as harbingers of danger, destruction, and evil. Something to be destroyed or controlled.

I prefer a more indigenous view. Wolf from this vantage point is a symbol of family and community. She is a symbol of psychic ability, intuition, and instinct. She is the master of reading her environment. She is seen as the great teacher of how to live a balanced life in tune with the environment and earth’s cycles. Mostly, wolf is the symbol of the pathfinder and the leader.

The wolf commands respect.

The full article can be found on my website. You can find and purchase my artwork there as well. Click on the button to go there now.

Digital downloads can be found on my Buy Me a Coffee page here:

And I'm Not The Only One

Here are a couple of places to find more information.

Here are some resources recommended by Ecoversity.

Introduction to Permaculture bu Bill Mollison

The Earth Path by Starhawk

Seed to Seed by Suzanne Ashworth

For an online format, try soilandhealth.org

Here is another idea

This is a time of giving for many cultures. It is an excellent time to support your local small business, artist, or artisan. It is usually more sustainable and keeps the resources cycling in your community. Start by looking up craft and art shows or holiday shows in your area.